NWSL Names Four FC Kansas City Players to Best XI

Updated: August 28, 2023

Three More Honored on Second XI

PRAIRIE VILLAGE, Kansas (Aug. 28, 2023) – The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced Wednesday the Best XI selections for the 2023 NWSL season.

FC Kansas City was the only team to have more than one player on the list. Goalkeeper Nicole Barnhart, defenders Becky Sauerbrunn, Leigh Ann Robinson and midfielder Lauren Holiday were all listed as one of the top players in the league at their position.  All four players will also be representing the United States in their upcoming match against Mexico (and FC Kansas City forward Teresa Noyola). FC Kansas City had the most selections of any team.

Western New York Flash forward Abby Wambach and defender Brittany Taylor were among the 11 players selected ahead of the 2023 NWSL Championship game on Saturday, Aug. 31 at Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y. between the Flash and Portland Thorns FC. The game kicks off at 7 p.m. CT and will be broadcast nationally live on FOX Sports 2.

At 23, Boston Breakers forward Sydney Leroux is the youngest member of the squad, which is comprised of seven allocated players from the United States and Canada women’s national teams and four non-allocated players.

The NWSL Best XI team (listed at position, alphabetically by last name):

GoalkeeperNicole BarnhartFC Kansas CityUSA10 Shutouts
DefenderChristie RamponeSky Blue FCUSA1.20 GAA
DefenderLeigh Ann RobinsonFC Kansas CityUSA5 assists
DefenderBecky SauerbrunnFC Kansas CityUSA1.0 GAA
DefenderBrittany TaylorWestern New York FlashUSA3 Goals, 4 Assists
MidfielderLori ChalupnyChicago Red StarsUSA5 Goals, 4 assists
MidfielderJess FishlockSeattle Reign FCWales4 Goals
MidfielderLauren HolidayFC Kansas CityUSA12 Goals, 9 Assists
MidfielderDiana MathesonWashington SpiritCanada8 Goals, 3 Assists
ForwardSydney LerouxBoston BreakersUSA11 Goals, 2 Assists
ForwardAbby WambachWestern New York FlashUSA11 Goals, 8 Assists

NWSL Second XI – Goalkeeper: Adrianna Franch, Western New York Flash – Defenders: Rachel Buehler, Portland Thorns FC; Caitlin Foord, Sky Blue FC; Ali Krieger, Washington Spirit; Lauren Sesselmann, FC Kansas City Midfielders: Megan Rapinoe, Seattle Reign FC; Desiree Scott, FC Kansas City; Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas CityForwards: Alex Morgan, Portland Thorns FC; Lianne Sanderson, Boston Breakers; Christine Sinclair, Portland Thorns FC

The NWSL awards are voted on by a selection of journalists that cover the league on a consistent basis, club officials and NWSL players.

Voters for the Best XI provided selections for four (4) defenders and a combination of six (6) midfielders or forwards; with the ability to select a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of three (3) forwards. The Goalkeeper of the Year was automatically named to the Best XI.

The Second XI is comprised of the next leading vote getters at each position that did not make the Best XI.